The Wound Healing Foundation (WHF) is improving the quality of life for wound healing patients and their families through support of awareness, research and education.


Travel Scholarships

The Wound Healing Foundation is pleased to offer recognition to deserving scientists and clinicians in the field of wound healing. The purpose of the Foundation scholarship awards is to recognize and reward deserving wound healing researchers by facilitating their attendance at meetings such as the WHS annual meeting. The WHF recognizes the importance of furthering research in the area of wound healing by assisting top researchers and by facilitating the presentation and scientific discussion of new discoveries.

This monetary award is used to offset travel expenses. The awards are presented at the WHS Business Meeting or other events.

The goal for this program is to award scholarships between $250 and $1,000 depending on availability and research quality. Help a deserving wound healing researcher attend a scientific meeting by going to our donate page to make a donation today.

A limited number of travel scholarships will be available for 2019 meetings. Submitted applications will be considered and awards will be made based on submission, scientific merit, rationale and availability of funds.

Download the application

Travel scholarships are made possible in part by financial support from,, Amazon Smile, Tobi, and Slickdeals, and personal donations.

Past WHF Travel Scholarship recipients are:

2018 Maximilian Kückelhaus, MD
WHF Impact Award
BG University Hospital Bergmannsheil, Ruhr University Bochum, Bochum, Germany
Regeneration of the entire human epidermis using transgenic stem cells
2018 Alessandra Moore, MD
Stanford University
Establishing scarless healing in adult skin fibroblasts using CRISPR-Cas9 gene targeting
2018 Michelle Bach, PhD
Sponsor: Paul L. Bollyky, MD, D Phil
Stanford University
Pf Phage In Chronic Pseudomonas Aeruginosa Wound Infections
2018 Kanhaiya Singh, PhD
Sponsor: Chandan K Sen, PhD
Ohio State University
Epigenetic Mapping Of Wound Edge From Chronic Wound Patients Using Next Generation Sequencing
2018 Mariëlle Walraven, PhD
Sponsor Boris Hinz
University of Toronto
Mechanical Education In Vitro Enhances Regenerative Capacities Of Human Mesenchymal Stem Cells In Vivo
2017 Mohamed El Masry
Sponsor: Chandan K Sen, PhD
Ohio State University
Enrichment of skin stem cell pool by inducible hair folliculogenesis
2017 Jeffery  Kwock, MD
Sponsor: Amanda MacLeod, MD
Duke University Medical Center
IL-27 promotes innate immunity and antiviral competence in wounds
2016 Dimitris Karamichos, PhD
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center,Dean McGee Eye Institute
Quercetin inhibits corneal scar formation in vivo
View 2015
2015 Swathi Balaji , Ph.D. & Vivekananda Sunkari, Ph.D
Sponsor: Paul L. Bollyky, M.D., D.Phil.
Cincinnati Children's Hospital
Regulatory t-cells potentiate wound repair and augment diabetic wound healing
2015 Gary Sidwick, Ph.D.
Sponsor: Ardeshir Bayat, Ph.D.
University of Manchester
Comparative analysis of proteomic and whole genome microarray datasets in both keloid and normal skin tissue and fibroblasts
2015 Sina Nassiri, Ph.D.
Sponsor: Kara L. Spiller, Ph.D.
Drexel University
A macrophage phenotype-related expression ratio predicts healing outcome in human chronic diabetic foot ulcers: a preliminary study
2015 Shomita Mathew-Steiner, Ph.D.
Sponsor: Chandan K. Sen, Ph.D.
Ohio State University
Wound healing in the Ossabaw model of obesity and pre-metabolic syndrome
View 2014
2014 Ana Luisa Alves Tellechea, Pharm. D.
Sponsor: Aristidis Veves, M.D., D.Sc.
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School
Mast cell stabilization: A potential treatment for diabetic foot ulcers
2014 Michael Januszyk, M.D.
Sponsor: Geoff Gurtner, M.D.
Stanford University
Mechanical modulation of wound healing via cell-matrix interaction and control of inflammatory pathways in a large animal model
2014 Jisook Lee, Ph.D.
Sponsor: Brian P. Eliceiri, Ph.D.
University of San Diego, Department of Surgery
Next generation animal models for injury research using mice transplanted with a human hemato-lymphoid system: Injury-induced human leuckocyte mobilization
2014 Michael D. Wetzel, Ph.D.
Sponsor: Celeste C. Finnerty, M.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch
Novel effects of biguanide drugs on reducing hyperglycemia in burn patients through alteration of oxidative respiratory pathway
2014 Monika Vinish, Ph.D.
University of Texas Medical Branch, Department of Anesthesiology
Dendritic cells in regulation of burn wound healing
2014 Graham Walmsley
Sponsor: Michael Longaker, M.D., M.B.A.
Stanford University
Live fibroblast harvest exposes transcriptional and surface marker shift in vitro
2014 Yalini Vigneswaran, M.D.
University of Chicago Medical Center, Department of Surgery
Macrophage polarization in response to self-assembling peptide biomaterials
2014 Donald Reese, B.S.
Sponsor: John W. Harmon, M.D.
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Strengthening Barriers: Successful strengthening of compromised skin with previously discussed novel minimally invasive approach using a Keratinocyte Growth Factor-1 plasmid
  • WHF President Laura Parnell, Maximilian Kückelhaus with the WHF Impact Award, and WHF VP Research Manuela Martins-Green

  • WHF President Laura K. S. Parnell, 2018 WHF-3M Recognition travel award recipient Alessandra Moore, 3M representative Matt Cooper, and WHF VP of Research and WHF Awards Chair Manuela Martins-Green

  • 2018 Travel scholarship recipient Michelle Bach, PhD

  • WHF President Laura Parnell, Chandan Sen, and 2018 Travel scholarship recipient Kanhaiya Singh

  • 2018 Travel scholarship recipient Mariëlle Walraven and WHF President Laura Parnell

  • Chandan Sen, WHF President Laura Parnell, and 2017 Travel scholarship recipient Mohamed El Masry

  • 2017 Travel scholarship recipient Jeffery Kwock, MD and WHF President Laura Parnell

  • 2016 WHF Travel Scholarship recipient Dimitris Karamichos, PhD gave an oral presentation on his wound healing research at the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology in Seattle, Washington this May.

  • 2015 Oral abstract WHF Travel awardees receiving scholarships and recognition at the WHS business meeting in San Antonio, Texas. Sina Nassiri, Vivekanada Sunkari, WHF President Laura K. S. Parnell and Shomita Mathew-Steiner. Photo courtesy of Peter Abadir.

  • 2014 WHS Poster winners for the WHF Travel awards receiving scholarships and recognition at the WHS business meeting in Orlando, Florida. WHS President Paul Y. Liu, Donald Reese, Yalini Vigneswaran, Monika Vinish, WHF President Laura K. S. Parnell, and WHS Awards chair Ken Liechty. Photo courtesy of Laura K. S. Parnell.

  • 2014 Oral abstract WHF Travel awardees receiving scholarships and recognition at the WHS business meeting in Orlando, Florida. WHS President Paul Y. Liu, Michael Wetzel, Jisook Lee, Ana Luisa Alves Tellechea and WHF President Laura K. S. Parnell. Photo courtesy of Laura K. S. Parnell.
  • First International awarded 2015 Oral abstract WHF Travel award and recognition at the WHS business meeting in San Antonio, Texas. WHF President Laura K. S. Parnell and Gary Sidwick. Photo courtesy of Peter Abadir."